Efficiency with less brain power and more time saved: Google Keep by Matt Lay

 

Google-Keep-Featured

Right now you’re probably wearing your teacher hat, but what about your parent or coaching or friend or spouse or… (insert here any additional miscellaneous) other hats that you constantly throw on and off throughout the course of the day and week? To say the least, we have a lot going on. How do y18ogh3xzo2fb7jpgou keep organized?

For me, I need lists. I don’t have the brainpower to remember all of the items on my lists in addition to completing all of the tasks.

 

When I make lists on paper, I end up losing them, or I end up making multiple lists that say the same tasks and I’m wasting time making lists rather than completing them.

Insert Google Keep:

Keep is a Google app & extension (so you can access it from your phone or computer) that will solve all of your list-making problems, and it’s quite a bit more dynamic than your paper list. So, what can Keep do? This (and probably more):

  • Make lists (duh)
  • Make multiple lists with different topics (grading, planning, shopping, misc. to-dos…)
  • Use different Google accounts to make varying lists (personal vs. professional)
  • Set a date/reminder to a list (I did that for this very blog post!).
  • Share your list with collaborators
    • For example, share one grocery list with your spouse that you can both amend.
    • For example, I share a yearbook to-do list with my editors so we can keep organized.
    • You can see the last person to amend your list so you know who has been making the changes.
  • Check items off your list, but keep them in reserve.
    • You can see what you’ve done/not done.
    • If it’s a list of items you do/use frequently, then you can simply add items back to the to-do list without having to retype anything; just click the check box.
  • Add colors/pictures (if you like that sort of thing).

Keep is actually pretty awesome. I don’t use a lot of apps (they tend to overwhelm me and they feel like another thing that’s compounding my already overflowing life), but Keep is easy and useful.

keep_android_update.png
by Matthew Lay

One thought on “Efficiency with less brain power and more time saved: Google Keep by Matt Lay

Leave a Reply

